Skip to content

Suhoor Today

06/06/2016

Today was the first day of fasting. Like many others, I thought that fasting was supposed to begin on Tuesday. I didn’t find out until Sunday and we had plans to be away from home all day.

This morning for suhoor, we had bacon waffles, scrambled eggs, strawberries, blueberries, big glasses of milk and water.

The bacon waffles were inspired by an episode of Trisha Yearwood’s cooking show I overheard on Saturday. Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 7.06.52 PM

Click here if you want to follow Trisha’s recipe.

We eat Maple Leaf Duck Bacon when we want that smoky, crispy element to our meals. I thought Trisha’s recipe was flawed in that there could be some pieces of the waffle that lacked the bacon flavor. I decided to chop up the raw bacon and proceed with her instructions of placing it on the waffle iron to cook before adding the waffle batter.

Incidentally, the waffle recipes I use are from Williams Sonoma for wheat and King Arthur for gluten free.

I made them fresh yesterday and then put the leftovers in the freezer. I learned earlier this year that I could put the leftover pancakes and waffles on a sheet pan and freeze them individually and then re-heat them in the microwave for 30 seconds for instant breakfasts that my kids Love.

Tonight, we are having pot roast panini, tossed salad and fruit. Dates, mango juice and lots of water will accompany our meal.

I’ve also started reading The Wild Diet by Abel James so I’m sure I’ll be switching things up and trying new recipes this month as I learn more about eating cleaner.

What did you eat today?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/08/2016 3:24 PM

    Slmz, just checking… Did you mean actual bacon? Like from a pig?

    • Magda permalink
      06/08/2016 8:55 PM

      Muslims don’t eat pork. They can eat turkey bacon, beef bacon, duck bacon, etc.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    06/08/2016 8:53 PM

    No, if you read it she used duck bacon. We do not eat pork!

  3. Anonymous permalink
    06/08/2016 9:14 PM

    Seriously??? You know there are other types of bacon right?

    • 06/14/2016 3:25 AM

      Honestly guys, no, I didnt know there are other types of bacon.
      Thats why I asked the question.

      Rather than being judgy behind your anonymousness, answer nicely how Magda did.

      I’m just learning about how Islam is in other countries. I’m not from the USA so I dont know these things.

      In South Africa we don’t have any bacon copies, as it is seen as trying to imitate the west. even using a bacon flavoring in food (yet the flavor contains no trace of actual bacon) is not allowed. I’m not saying that is right or wrong, it just is.

      So we have halaal beef that you can fry, and that about it. It just nothing like bacon.

Share Your Thoughts